Working As A Mother

Wednesday, October 12, 2016


Gratitude list:

1. The interview went amazingly and the owner actually sounded like she valued stay at home mothers.

2. We were able to help Claire start a blog 🙂 and Addie behaved almost the whole time.

3. Jacob worked later today which means we got the whole morning together, he’s a good man.

So I had an interview today for an early morning prep Baker. I used to be a pastry chef but that was about eight years ago. But I have been looking for something to get me out of the house a few days a week where I could socialize and be challenged.

I do work from home occasionally in my own business but I have been craving to be out with other people in a work environment, what can I say I love working.

Well interviewing while I was talking to this amazing entrepreneur I mentioned to her I was a stay at home mom. Her face lit up and she exclaimed “I love hiring stay at home moms. They are such incredible workers and I believe creating a flexible working area so they can maintain a healthy work and family balance.”

This immediately put me at ease and made me feel this is someone I could actually do business with.

I had previously approached someone else with an interview and when I mentioned I was currently a stay-at-home mother she wrote it very big at the top of my resume and it could have been my imagination but she seemed like this was a very negative quality to possess. This incident made me nervous to even mention it in my interview today but I needed to make sure that any employer that hired me realized that I’m not in the job to work long hours but for the hours I do work I will do my best.

I wants read a book called Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg. She talks about how our workforce needs more women and women who are fully present and ready to lead in their fields. She talks about some of the challenges for women is that we need to be able to take care of our family and not work long hours because we want to be with our children.

I was so excited to meet a female entrepreneur who understood this and even encourage this. She said “As long as you’re getting your work done I am more than happy to be flexible.”

What a relief, what a blessing. I worked full-time the first nine months of Addie life and honestly I don’t want to do that again. The time I have with her is amazing even if at times it’s far more challenging than any job I’ve ever had.

P.S.The picture above is of Addie on our bike trip today. Any day with biking is one worth remembering.

